Finally!

I’m officially launching my blog page after, oh several years of procrastinating.  I won’t bother stating a mission or deep thoughts about why I will be blogging.  Instead I will start, just like one would learn how to swim, jump in and try to keep afloat!

I just returned from attending the annual Surtex and National Stationery Show in New York city.  Surtex is a trade show specifically for artists, agents, print houses to display and shop art work for uses on greeting cards, textiles, home decor, toys, packaging, jewelry, office goods, dishes, paper goods, you name it and manufacturers flock to the Jacob Javitz Center every year looking for new artwork and to see the trends.

In the lobby of the Javitz just outside of the entrance to the National Stationery Show is the display of all of the nominated greeting cards for the Louie Award.  Ahem, I had TWO of my greeting card designs on display.  On Sunday, May 19th I attended the 25th Anniversary Louie Awards Gala on the Chelsea Pier.  While I did not win an award, I want to share photos of this fun event.  It really was a much bigger deal then I imagined!  Sadly my mobile phone died the following day taking with it all of my gala photos!  I borrowed these photos from the Greeting Card Association website.

In the lobby of the Jacob Javitz Center near the entrance to the National Stationery Show was the Louie Award Display of all the nominated greeting cards.

In the lobby of the Jacob Javitz Center near the entrance to the National Stationery Show was the Louie Award Display of all the nominated greeting cards.

Chelsea Light House Louie Gala

Sunday evening, at the Louie Award Gala, this was the entrance to the venue greeting attendees with this fabulous paper cut swirling maze.

Teresa working the room.

That’s me in the very middle of the picture with the glasses and my red bag working the room 🙂

At the Gala - cards on display

All cards on display at the Gala.

Centerpiece

The paper craft theme was carried through onto each table’s centerpiece.

Mary Engelbreit

Art licensing queen, Mary Engelbreit was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award by Susan January.

Leave a Reply

